Palmer Trinity School has made a commitment to experiential education, domestic and global travel- including language, culture, service and adventure travel. Experiential education gives students the freedom to engage content and skills: to work alone and in teams, and to develop abilities and confidence in a praxis of action. It also offers a time for reflection to clarify what students have learned about themselves, the project undertaken and the wider values of their world. Teachers who work with experiential learning programs are undertaking a different kind of educational experience.
 
The following is a list of travel experiences available to students during the 2016 - 17 school year. Please email the Travel Contact for more information, or if you have any questions. 
 
August 2016

August 8 - 12
Agents of Change Class - Grades 10, 11, and 12
Blue Ridge Mountains/Ashville, N.C.
Leader: Dr. Llinas (lllinas@palmertrinity.org)
 
October 2016
 
October 9 - 16
Round Square International Conference
Louisenlund, Germany
Leader: Mr. Reynolds (dreynolds@palmertrinity.org)

October 26 - 28 
Camp Sparta Experience
Central Florida
Leader: Mr. Tolmach (ptolmach@palmertrinity.org)
Grade 7

October 28 
Kennedy Space Center
Cape Canaveral, Fl
Leader: Mrs. Massa (lmassa@palmertrinity.org)
Grade 7

November 2016
 
November 2 - 5 
College Counseling Tour of Florida Colleges and Universities
Leaders: Ms. Armato/Ms. Jolivert (aarmato@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 10, 11, and 12
 
November 7 - 9 and November 14 - 16
Marine Lab Experience
Florida Keys
Leader: Mr. Tolmach (ptolmach@palmertrinity.org)
Grade 6

December 2016

December 1 - 4 
Tri-State Band Festival
Tallahassee, Fl.
Leader: Mr. McFarlane (amcfarlane@palmertrinity.org)

December 7 - 10 
Student Leadership Diversity Conference
Atlanta, Ga.
Leader: Ms. Armato (aarmato@palmertrinity.org)
 
January 2017
 
January 11 - 13
Florida Music Educators Clinic/Conference
Tampa, Fl.
Leader: Ms. Queen (aqueen@palmertrinity.org)
 
January 19 - 21
Presidential Inauguration
Washington, D.C.
Leader: Mr. Andrew (gandrew@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 9-12

February 2017
 
February Break*
Literature of Afro-Eurasian
Southern Africa
Leader: Mrs. Sidhu (dsidhu@palmertrinity.org)

February 16 - 20
Lincoln Center Performance
Leader: Mr. Lester (tlester@palmertrinity.org)
Upper School Choir
 
February Break*
Service Partnership Experience in Haiti
Lamecette, Haiti
Leader: Mr. Gonzalez (rgonzalez@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 9-12

February 9 - 11
Junior Thespian Festival
Tampa, Florida
Leader: Mr. Stoddard (mstoddard@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 6-8
 
February Break*
Environmental/Adventure Travel
Big Island, Hawaii
Leader: Mr. Jones (cjones@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 11 and 12

February Break*
Signature PTS Program - Service Partnership Experience
Managua, Nicaragua
Leader: Ms. Truby (atruby@palmertrinity.org)

February 19 - 24
Agents of Change
TBA
Leader: Dr. Llinas (lllinas@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 10-12

February Break*
Northeast College Tour
Leaders: Ms. Armato/Ms. Jolivert (aarmato@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 10-11

March 2017

March 6 - 10
Outward Bound Everglades Experience (Group 1)
Leader: Dr. Llinas (lllinas@palmertrinity.org)
Grade 9
 
March 13 - 17
Outward Bound Everglades Experience (Group 2)
Leader: Dr. Llinas (lllinas@palmertrinity.org)
Grade 9

March 15 - 19
Florida Thespian Festival
Tampa, Fl. 
Leader: Mr. Stoddard (mstoddard@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 9-12

March 8 - 11
French Congres
Orlando, Fl.
Leader: Mrs. Goodwin (cgoodwin@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 9-12

March 8 - 11
Spanish Conferencia Competition
Orlando, Fl.
Leader: Mrs. Rittenhouse (trodriguez@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 9-12

April 2017

Spring Break*
Signature PTS Program - Service Partnership Experience
Managua, Nicaragua
Leader: Ms. Vanegas (mvanegas@palmertrinity.org)
Grades 9-12

Spring Break*
Signature PTS Program - French Language and Culture Travel 
Montreal and Quebec City
Leader: Ms. Paris (gparis@palmertrinity.org)

April 7-16
Ireland Music Tour
Leader: Mrs. Queen (aqueen@palmertrinity.org)
PTS Orchestra

May 2017

May 2 - 5
Close Up: Washington, D.C. Experience
Leader: Mrs. Schael (nschael@palmertrinity.org)
Grade 8

June 2017

June 18 - 25
Service Travel to Sioux Reservation
La Plant, South Dakota
Leader: Mr. Reynolds (dreynolds@palmertrinity.org)
Ages 15 and up

July 2017
 
July 2 - 19
Signature PTS Program - Home-Stay Exchange Program
Salamanca, Spain
Leader: Mrs. Massa (lmassa@palmertrinity.org)
Rising 9th - 12th Graders

July 25 - August 2
Service Partnership Experience - Blue Mission
Dominican Republic
Leader: Ms. Armato (aarmato@palmertrinity.org)
Rising 9th - 12th Graders

Summer Break* TBA
Guitar, Fine Arts, and Environment
Tokyo and Kyoto, Japan
Leader: Dr. Harvin (charvin@palmertrinity.org)
Rising 9th - 12th Graders

*For more information and specific dates, please contact the Travel Leader
Please refer to US State Dept updates regarding the Zika virus for your own travel.
 
8001 SW 184 Street, Miami, FL 33157
Tel: 305.251.2230 | Fax: 305.251.2917
An independent, college preparatory, co-ed, Episcopal day school serving a community of students grades 6-12.